Hostinger vs SiteGround: Which Hosting Plan Is Better Value?
Compare Hostinger and SiteGround by real use cases, plan limits, pricing and trade-offs. See which option fits your needs.

This comparison is mainly about the length of the introductory commitment and the cost after it ends. Hostinger's recorded offer uses a four-year prepaid term, while SiteGround's StartUp snapshot uses a 12-month prepaid term and has a higher recorded renewal rate.
Quick verdict
There is no universal winner. Hostinger is the stronger shortlist choice when: Choose Hostinger if a four-year commitment is acceptable and the lower recorded first-term total matters. Check whether the Premium backup frequency and resource limits suit your website.
SiteGround is the stronger shortlist choice when: Choose SiteGround if you prefer to commit for one year initially and value its WordPress-focused management features. Confirm exactly which backup and security features are included in StartUp rather than relying on features from higher tiers.
Side-by-side comparison
| Comparison point | Hostinger | SiteGround |
|---|---|---|
| Plan snapshot | Premium | StartUp |
| Introductory price | $2.49/month for 48 months | $3.99/month prepaid for 12 months |
| Amount due for stated term | $119.52 before taxes/checkout changes | $47.88 before tax for 12 months |
| Recorded renewal | $10.99/month | $17.99/month |
| Backup note | Weekly backups on Premium; higher tiers add daily backups | Daily backups listed; retention period is not stated on the plan card |
| Website/storage detail | 3 websites and 20 GB SSD | 1 website and 10 GB Premium Google storage |
| Positioning | Beginner-friendly hosting and WordPress setup | WordPress-focused hosting and management features |
| Key caution | Long prepaid commitment | Large renewal increase |
What the table means in practice
This table is a decision aid, not a universal score. Compare the exact plans you would buy. Any item marked for verification remains unconfirmed until the vendor confirms it.
The decision by use case
When Hostinger makes more sense
Choose Hostinger if a four-year commitment is acceptable and the lower recorded first-term total matters. Check whether the Premium backup frequency and resource limits suit your website.
When SiteGround makes more sense
Choose SiteGround if you prefer to commit for one year initially and value its WordPress-focused management features. Confirm exactly which backup and security features are included in StartUp rather than relying on features from higher tiers.
A realistic buying scenario
A new project that may change direction in a year may prefer not to prepay for four years. A stable website with a predictable multi-year plan may accept the longer commitment if the total cost works. The better option depends on the owner's certainty and the recovery features required.
Pricing and plan limits: the details to verify
Hostinger: Premium: $2.49/month for 48 months ($119.52 upfront); renews at $10.99/month. US/global page snapshot. Prices vary by country, currency, campaign and term. The displayed monthly amount is paid upfront for the full term.
SiteGround: StartUp: $3.99/month prepaid for 12 months ($47.88 before tax); renews at $17.99/month. The current US English plan page lists one website, 10 GB storage, daily backups, SSL/CDN and email. Backup retention is not stated on the plan card; promotions and regional prices can vary.
The $2.49 and $3.99 figures represent different prepaid periods. Hostinger requires a four-year commitment, while SiteGround requires one year. The first-term total and renewal rate tell a more useful story than the monthly equivalent. SiteGround lists one website and 10 GB storage; confirm backup retention before purchase.
Before checkout, verify the country, currency, tax, billing term, amount due today, renewal amount, included limits and any paid add-ons. For hosting, check the plan's actual resource allowances and backup restoration terms. For SEO software, check project count, tracked keywords, crawl limits, users, document capacity and data history. A monthly equivalent is not the same as a monthly payment when the vendor requires annual or multi-year prepayment.
A fair test for this comparison
Compare both providers against the same WordPress site requirements: number of installs, expected visits, storage, media volume, backup frequency and support needs. Record the amount due today and the renewal cost. If you test speed, use the same page, caching setup, test location and measurement method. Do not treat a vendor's visit estimate as a speed or uptime result.
Bottom line
Choose Hostinger if a four-year commitment is acceptable and the lower recorded first-term total matters. Check whether the Premium backup frequency and resource limits suit your website.
Choose SiteGround if you prefer to commit for one year initially and value its WordPress-focused management features. Confirm exactly which backup and security features are included in StartUp rather than relying on features from higher tiers.
The choice should follow the requirement that matters most to the buyer. If the required feature or plan limit cannot be confirmed from the source pages, pause the recommendation until the vendor clarifies it.
Frequently asked questions
Which has the shorter initial commitment?
SiteGround's recorded StartUp offer is prepaid for 12 months, while the Hostinger Premium offer is for 48 months.
Which has the lower recorded renewal?
Hostinger is listed at $10.99/month and SiteGround at $17.99/month in this snapshot. Confirm the live renewal terms.
Does SiteGround StartUp include daily backups?
Yes. The current plan page lists daily backups, SSL and CDN. It lists one website and 10 GB storage; backup retention is not stated on the plan card, so confirm restore details with SiteGround.
Affiliate disclosure
LucentWave may earn a commission from some products when a reader uses an approved tracking link. Affiliate status is not a product feature and does not determine the editorial conclusion. If a personal tracking link has not been approved and supplied, use a neutral official link or omit the commercial CTA.
Sources and verification
- Hostinger official website
- Hostinger official pricing
- Hostinger affiliate program information
- SiteGround official website
- SiteGround official pricing
- SiteGround affiliate program information
Source note: product information and pricing in this draft were recorded on 31 October 2026. Recheck live plan details, billing terms and regional availability before publication.
Comparison standard: This is a research-led comparison, not a controlled performance test. No speed, uptime, ranking or support-response winner is declared without reproducible evidence.



